PDA

View Full Version : Dodgers?

Geezle
08-16-2011, 11:59 AM
Yesterday I received a bit of a care package, and in said package there were a couple of dodgers.

Now being the boatless wonder that I am, I've never used dodgers before, so I'm a little bit stuck on exactly when/where/why I would use them.

From what I understand they pretty much just impart extra action to a given lure?

ice
08-16-2011, 12:30 PM
First of all,
WTF is a dodger. >.>
Was There Lures or at the least bit line, In this care package,
And if Not,
WHY IS THERE DODGERS IN THERE!
Edit - To Me a Care package, Is a Survival Kit,

ice

Mike_W
08-16-2011, 12:35 PM
Depends on the dodger!

Flashers (very similar to a dodger) are designed to give a big looping spin that flashes and imparts an action to your bait leadered 3-8 feet back.

Dodgers don't do the big looping spin they do a tamer wobble side to side again leadered 2-6 feet back these will impart an action to the bait also however much less aggresive than a flasher.

Dodgers are fished slower than flashers....don't go too fast with a dodger or it will spin and thats not how they are designed.

Both are designed to add action and flash to attract fish and trigger a strike.
These are only used to troll and usually used behind a downrigger.

Dust1n
08-16-2011, 12:35 PM
try flossing with it>? not too sure though

tacklerunner
08-16-2011, 12:41 PM
When trolling Dodgers give your lure (or bait) more darting action.
Flashers or paddles give your lure a rolling action.
Usually you will fish your lure 28" - 60" behind a dodger. The shorter your leader, the greater the action on your lure.
Generally used for salmon and large trout. Rainbows and cohos like a faster action while bulls and lakers like a wider, slower swing.