PDA

View Full Version : Problem with my motor

Jacek
08-17-2011, 10:40 PM
Hello everyone, hoping to get some hints as to what is wrong with more motor or hopfully better yet what am I doing wrong as I just purchased this boat.

I pump my gas manually 4 pumps, give it 2 chokes with throttle, put the throttle in the proper position, and the motor would start for a few secs than die.

I am hoping its simple like there might be a valve I need to open up in my gas tank to let gas flow easy to the motor. I did find one after I brought the boat ashore and hope that was my problem. Hoping for a confirmation before I try agian. I am a complete noob to boats and any help would be much appreciated.

The motor is a 90hp johnson think the year is 94.

Thanks in advance....

My kids were alittle bummed out hoping to get this fixxed soon.

lilsundance
08-17-2011, 10:45 PM
try pumping the bulb til it gets hard. That tell's you the carb is full. Make sure the choke is engaged and the vent cap on the tank is open. Then start it, as it warms up, slowly take the choke off.

Tezma
08-17-2011, 10:46 PM
Replace the throttle body gasket.

Take the plastic cover off, and there should be a half moon gasket made out of rubber.

My 9.9 HP johnson had the same problem. it would idle with choke. once you take away choke. then bluuuh.

replace that and your golden

Tezma
08-17-2011, 10:48 PM
get a garbage can fill it with water. or one of those suction cup thing that you can attach a water hose and start it. that way you dont have to take it to the water.

Jacek
08-17-2011, 10:57 PM
Wow some fast replies, thanks alot I ll try and check all that tomorow. I hope its just that simple and everything goes.

Thanks alot folks :) .

Tezma
08-17-2011, 11:48 PM
Wow some fast replies, thanks alot I ll try and check all that tomorow. I hope its just that simple and everything goes.

Thanks alot folks :) .

No problem and welcome to the Forums

Rick.
08-18-2011, 08:25 AM