PDA

View Full Version : really dumb question

cgall
08-25-2011, 02:41 PM
I am relatively new to river fishing and would like to fish in the bow by Carsland. My problem is that I have never used a spinner (lure) in a river. Do I need to weight it down? Would one cast upstream. down or across? As my title states, I know this is really basic, but I couldn't find an answer anywhere.

MoFugger21
08-25-2011, 02:49 PM
Though I tend to not fish rivers the size of the Bow (smaller mountain rivers for me), when using a spinner (Blue Fox, Mepps, Panther Martin, etc) you typically want to cast across the river or downstream, and let the current work the spinner back across while you are reeling in.

Though casting upstream can work for certain lures, you'll find by casting spinners upstream you don't get the desired "spinning" action. Also, the hook is more prone to jamming or snagging into the rocks as you don't have as much control working a spinner upstream as you do when casting downstream.

With a little practice and trial and error, you'll find what works best for different situations (fast moving water, bigger pools, shallow water, etc). Hope this helps a little.

Dust1n
08-25-2011, 03:07 PM
Dont use weight...cast your spinner about 4-1foot away from the banks and let it drift towards you. youll get the odd brown trout way out there feeding on whites but im sure most of us will agree the strikes come close to the bank and youll notice that too when your out fishing.
skinny spoons and countdowns work best IMO

0liver
08-25-2011, 03:19 PM
Dont use weight...cast your spinner about 4-1foot away from the banks and let it drift towards you. youll get the odd brown trout way out there feeding on whites but im sure most of us will agree the strikes come close to the bank and youll notice that too when your out fishing.
skinny spoons and countdowns work best IMO