PDA

View Full Version : Geese and a 20ga.

fishinisgood
09-28-2011, 08:46 PM
My son and I are going on our first goose hunt on saturday and we only have access to a 20ga. for him.Will a 20ga. with #2 shot be sufficient.Thanks for your info.Dave

Big Daddy Badger
09-28-2011, 10:46 PM
I'm far from an expert in goose hunting...I only got into that this year myself but (in my limited experience) I think you might be a little under gunned there... especially if you are shooting 2 3/4 inch shells. The darn things are tougher than they look and can really take a hit.

sourdough doug
09-28-2011, 10:54 PM
A 12 with 2 3/4 are hardly adequate and unless the geese are landing in your pit it's best to leave the 20 at home, atleast on a goose hunt.. Take him for ducks with a 20, better yet keep it for upland.. I started with a 20 and unless there has been a dramatic change in the shells, IMO, it is just not there...

densa44
09-28-2011, 11:12 PM
The 20 is fine but geese and the 12 ga. are made for each other. Due to their size they are farther away than you think. You need to shoot for the head or neck NOT that big body.

I think you need bigger steel shot, I'd get the largest that they sell for 20 ga. Does your shot gun shoot steel?

Have you done this before?

whitetail Junkie
09-29-2011, 01:20 AM
Yes your 20 gauge will kill geese just fine with #2 steel shot.

joeti7
09-29-2011, 01:33 AM
Yes your 20 gauge will kill geese just fine with #2 steel shot.

X2, Killed one 2 days ago. I was shooting 3" #2 shot. One shot, one dead goose.

Zekeland
09-29-2011, 01:47 AM
If you are pass shooting at maximum distances the 20g would not work as well as the 12g.

If you are decoying waterfowl on land or water the 20g is fine.

I use 3" Kents #2 or sometimes the odd heavy shot shell.