PDA

View Full Version : PCR Fishing ..

Eddy62
10-07-2011, 06:58 AM
you no i took my brother and newphew to pcr yesterday and had a blast between the 2 off them they caught well over 100 fish and went through a large bag off smelts in 5 hrs unreal.

As we were fishing we could see this guy from far away and we knew it was a co so he approached us and did the routine licence,barbless,checked are coolers and my nap sack ( i didnt care as i am a 100 percent catch and release fisherman ) then when he was done he started to chat with me about lake.

9 years ago they stocked this lake and he told me its not getting to the point with spawning or growth. As i am not that experienced with walleye fishing and growth off walleye as alot of you anglers.

My question is what will they do with PCR as far as im concerned these fish are starving and i was glad to feed them lol. So should they let anglers have a small limit and thin this lake out a little ? will the walleye ever get to a bigger size i dont see much off a change from 2 years ago..

Ultra light rod and reel sure is a blast there though.....

ak-71
10-07-2011, 09:32 AM
I think walleye in PCR is not to be consumed because of the high mercury level anyway

npauls
10-07-2011, 02:12 PM
I think they need to stock some sort of bait fish in there for the predators to eat.

This could help with growth rates and keep these fish from starving.

Could be a nice walleye lake if they could ever get it to where the other walleye lakes around southern Alberta are.

Gary K
10-07-2011, 02:44 PM
perch, whitefish.

that would be good in my books.

BeeGuy
10-07-2011, 03:05 PM
I think walleye in PCR is not to be consumed because of the high mercury level anyway

I had heard this as well, so I read the reports.

It is not particularly true.

Hg levels in PCR fish are around levels similar to many other water bodies in Alberta, as well as what you buy at the grocery store.

They're probably delicious.