PDA

View Full Version : Southern Alberta Ice Fishing

archeryman
12-05-2011, 12:45 PM
I am new to southern alberta. Is there any place that is frozen enough to fish??? I am in Lethbridge. I know the weather hasn't been great for freezing yet, but if anybody knows a lake or pond with fish in it that is 6" of ice or more, I am willing to explore! I don't know where to start though!

Thanks in advance!

fisherwoman
12-05-2011, 12:50 PM
I don't think it's been cold enough for safe ice yet. So I haven't risked it. But when I do try I will let u know how thick it was.

jacenbeers
12-05-2011, 01:06 PM
Have a look at the posts that have already been made about it. There are lots of ice reports already posted that you can find. There is definitely safe ice out there.

archeryman
12-05-2011, 01:17 PM
Have a look at the posts that have already been made about it. There are lots of ice reports already posted that you can find. There is definitely safe ice out there.

Will do, but don't know any lakes at all being named. Will have to take my time and try and find them on a map I guess.. Thanks.

gordfishing
12-05-2011, 03:56 PM
you live in Lethbridge, the biggest fish I ever lost was ice fishing
at Nicolas Sheridan on the west side of town
the trout ripped one my leader as I was jigging

Wes_G
12-05-2011, 11:46 PM
There was still open water on Nich. Sheran on saturday.... I would be leary.

spring 21
01-16-2012, 03:54 PM
nic is completely safe out there ive fished on it way early in the season but the fishing was slow. just stay away from the open and water and you will be fine , theres some good trout in there i caught a 5 pound brown there this summer

Guitarplayingfish
01-16-2012, 04:12 PM
nic is completely safe out there ive fished on it way early in the season but the fishing was slow. just stay away from the open and water and you will be fine , theres some good trout in there i caught a 5 pound brown there this summer