PDA

View Full Version : Help with whites

bpoppa85
12-06-2011, 04:36 PM
Hi all. So I'm looking for a little help with the whitefish. I was at pigeon lake for 6 hours today. I saw tons of whitefish and two burbot on the camera. I might as well have been fishing without hooks because the whites couldn't have been less interested. I tried wire worms of all colors, small spoons, tiny jigs with little 2" minnows, wet fly leech pattern. I tried jogging right on the bottom, half way down, jigging aggressively, jigging passively. This is my first year trying for whites and I'm stumped. They wouldn't even sniff it.

aulrich
12-06-2011, 04:54 PM
One thing the jumps out, is folks have reported whites are camera shy, my first year with a camera so I cannot say from personal experience.

Color seems to make a big difference, I was out last year and we were busting them on red then it dried up, another guy came into the tent and immediatly caught fish, he was using yellow, we swaped and started cathing again.

With the wrong color they would not even come by the hole.

I don't know if it was the day but once they came by the hook needed to be very still.

Can't wait for Saturday the boys and I are heading to Travers

wwbirds
12-06-2011, 05:26 PM
Sems they are spawning right now if that might make a difference. We caught 8 last weekend and many of them were full of eggs.

Tyangelo
12-06-2011, 05:37 PM
I've been in the exact same scenario at the provincial park last year. Tried everything, tons on the cam, no bites. And yet, even in the last 2 hours, I fished with no camera, I still didn't have any action.

vital shok
12-06-2011, 05:59 PM
Try a royal coachman wet fly with wings pulled off with three maggots if legal works in the bow years ago when bait was allowed prob 30 to 40 fish a night

bpoppa85
12-06-2011, 05:59 PM