PDA

View Full Version : Side by side holes... technique?

bloopbloob
12-13-2011, 11:37 PM
I'll be heading to Wab in the near future, and because its full of monsters, i think I should drill connecting holes in case the big one comes... but I've never done this before. I have an 8" gas auger. Looking for advice for the best way to do this. My plan was to keep alternating back and forth between the two holes before ever punching through to water.... but never tried, wondering what works best...? Thx!

Lefty-Canuck
12-13-2011, 11:45 PM
I'll be heading to Wab in the near future, and because its full of monsters, i think I should drill connecting holes in case the big one comes... but I've never done this before. I have an 8" gas auger. Looking for advice for the best way to do this. My plan was to keep alternating back and forth between the two holes before ever punching through to water.... but never tried, wondering what works best...? Thx!

You know plesiosaurus is extinct right? :)

LC

Big Red 250
12-13-2011, 11:48 PM
You can drag a big fish out of an 8 inch hole.

The Fisherman Guy
12-13-2011, 11:48 PM
I cut windows in the spring to sight fish. Drill a hole nearby for a tip up, and marlk the depth you broke through on your auger. Drill 4/5 of the way through, then start the next hole. Use an axe or ice chisel to knock off the sharp points. Once your hole is smooth, drill the rest of the way through.

chubbdarter
12-13-2011, 11:52 PM
thats why i keep my 4 blade lazer...its a no brainer just drill linked holes without any concern.
ive tryed other augers and binding can happen

Geezle
12-14-2011, 08:04 AM

The way you described is pretty much how I do it...just alternate back and forth until you finally punch through.

You can drag a big fish out of an 8 inch hole.