PDA

View Full Version : Do you use your snowmobile when ice fishing?

newguy
12-27-2011, 09:38 PM
Hi everyone. I'm new to ice fishing southern alberta, been to a few places over the last couple years. I'm wondering if anyone uses their snowmobile to tow gear to and from their set ups? F&W and SRD haven't been helpful at all answering questions...

The machine is insured and plated. My insurance guy tells me I'm even insured if I go for a swim. :scared0015:

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks!!

chubbdarter
12-27-2011, 09:41 PM
Yup....a must when the snow is deep or long runs over thinner ice. If your paper work is up to speed your good to go.

lake side
12-27-2011, 09:43 PM
Yes, I use mine all the time for ice fishing. I can not see why you wouldn't be allowed.

FYI-I will be using my quad this weekend as there is little too no snow at the lake I will be fishing.

Lake side........

BBJTKLE&FISHINGADVENTURES
12-27-2011, 09:50 PM
Not snow mobile but I use my quad , Truck sits on shore , I wont be that guy that puts his truck thru the ice , Quad maybe , but truck nope . got me my lil redneck sled that I put my rubbermaid box on auger , chair and all my other good stuff , but I think its time for something a little better . Im thinking a UFA Calf sled , and then rig something up for soft over , then a guy could cruse across the lake rather then dilly daddle , mind you - 20 on a quad isnt a fun thing .

HunterDave
12-27-2011, 10:29 PM
No, I do not use my snowmobile to go icefishing because......THERE"S NO SNOW!!!!! :angry3:

But yes, you can sled onto the ice on the lakes around here. There are several fishing spots that I can sled to right from home. :)

javlin101
12-28-2011, 10:05 AM
If it ever snows I will use my 2012 Skandic 550F but mother nature is playing a cruel joke on my this seaon. Will use the quad in the mean time. it's like ice fishing on a hockey rink out there so bought a pair of ice cleats for the first time.

Jiffy10
12-28-2011, 01:41 PM