PDA

View Full Version : Gun shy dogs…. Inherited trait? or How a dog is introduced to guns?

Rockymtnx
12-28-2011, 10:20 AM
So over Christmas I got involved in a discussion with a couple of people about gun shy dogs. The situation came up with someone getting a year old dog who was gun shy. They original owner of the dog was getting rid of her because of this. One of the stipulations of giving her away was that the original owner didn’t want her bred as he didn’t want this trait passed on to other dogs ruining the breed.

My question is…. Are dogs gun shy because of:

Their genetic traits being passed on from their bloodlines
or
The way a dog is introduced to guns.

Blanka
12-28-2011, 10:27 AM
I'm no dog expert, but I had my Lab out with me shooting ever since he was a puppy and he has never even flinched at the the sound of a gun. But I also know guys who have pure bred labs and their dogs are petrified of guns? So it can't be genetic? I am sure some breeds are predisposed to hunting but you could still end up with a dog scared of gun shots.

AS far as curing them of their gun phobia, I don't have any answers for that because I haven't had to deal with it. I am sure there are some dog expert on here that have a lot more info than I do.

Cheers

huntin
12-28-2011, 10:30 AM
I think it can be a trait but also learnt we used to have a hinze57 no hunting breed in her at all but she would sit under a tree for hours if there was a tree gopther in it. Untill some one came shot it for her. she loved hunting them and house cats. pretty much if it climbed a tree she figured it should die one time she treed a pine martin. If you had a gun in your hand she was a happy dog.

wwbirds
12-28-2011, 10:34 AM
I have seen some dogs where the whole line was sensitive to loud noises and sometimes this is attributable to intelligence for only a fool would continue uninhibited if loud unexplanable noises were present.