PDA

View Full Version : Ice fishing tips - having no luck!

Lotep
01-04-2012, 02:22 PM
Hey Folks,

I have been attempting to ice fish for a couple years now without any luck in this particular lake. I have yet to punch holes in the entire lake due to the lack of time to fish and having to drill by hand! The lake is deep and cold with lake trout, pike, and burbot. I generally try right near the bottom with jigs and spoons by bouncing the bottom for the first bit then raising it up 4-6 inches. I am generally fishing in 40-60 feet of water as the shore drops off very quickly. I try and target uderwater islands and features but have yet to connect.

Other than getting out more, can anyone give me some pointers as to what lures or anything else that could help?

Thanks

Gust
01-04-2012, 02:28 PM
Hey Folks,

I have been attempting to ice fish for a couple years now without any luck in this particular lake. I have yet to punch holes in the entire lake due to the lack of time to fish and having to drill by hand! The lake is deep and cold with lake trout, pike, and burbot. I generally try right near the bottom with jigs and spoons by bouncing the bottom for the first bit then raising it up 4-6 inches. I am generally fishing in 40-60 feet of water as the shore drops off very quickly. I try and target uderwater islands and features but have yet to connect.

Other than getting out more, can anyone give me some pointers as to what lures or anything else that could help?

Thanks

if you know the structure well, try to move onto the literal drop and bait at the top of the steepest incline or drop and then work your bait deeper every hour or so,, or set up a second hole where you are jigging the greatest fall of the drop,, i.e., feed out and walk your lure down the face with lotsa twitches then back up again. Ist it solid, hill-like or rocky how steep a drop off?

Dust1n
01-04-2012, 02:33 PM
40-60foot range is getting out of pike territory and shallow for lakers.