PDA

View Full Version : Auger Recommendations?

Kevwood
02-16-2012, 11:26 PM
I have been fishing for the past 20 years with an 8" Eskimo...the power/performance isn't there anymore (even with fresh blades) and it is starting to slip pretty good. I think it is time to lay her to rest, she doesn't owe me anything...

I want to go to 10" and looking for something thats cuts fairly quick(less time punching holes more time fishing)and have been web browsing for info, seems it is between Strikemaster, Jiffy and Eskimo? Do I need the bigger engine for the 10" hole? Or how big? I know Tim The Toolman would tell me I need the Binford 6100 Ice Destroyer ... "MORE POWER" I'm a little out of date in auger technology...are all the cc's necessary? or is there other considerations than power? 40:1 seems like a pretty standard ratio for most of the augers out there. The overall weight is not a concern, I see some of the Strikemaster units with the electronic ignition...I'm a fan of that already. Warranty? Fuel consumption? Reliability? Ease of starting? What do you use and what would you recommend? I have only run 1 Auger in my life and have nothing to compare it to...any and all information/recommendations are appreciated.

Kev

HunterDave
02-16-2012, 11:45 PM
I spent almost a year researching power augers, asking for opinions (like you) and waiting for the right deal which I found on Boxing Day. I was looking for an 8" auger though and I found that Eskimo had the best bang for the buck. I ended up buying a 51cc Shark.

Strikemaster seemed to be a higher end power auger and with that comes a higher end price. It seemed to me that models comparable to Eskimo and Jiffy were more expensive.

Eskimo and Jiffy are comparably priced. What swayed me towards the Eskimo was that the auger was a little longer so the likelihood of not needing an extension was better. I might get flamed for this but I also heard that the Jiffy's might be a bit harder to start when it's really cold.