PDA

View Full Version : Ling Cod

need2fish
02-29-2008, 11:41 AM
Does anyone have any tips on how to catch a ling? Someone said to use a piece of beef liver.

TJK
02-29-2008, 12:06 PM
I am really no expert but a large minow on a plain lead jig head has worked for me. A few inches off the bottom and bounce it on the bottom once and a while to get attention.

need2fish
02-29-2008, 12:13 PM
Thanks TJK. Should I use a steel leader with that...like for pike?

dss44
02-29-2008, 01:15 PM
They love octopus. All summer all I do is fish for salmon, hali's, and lings and their favorite food is definitely octopus. A LARGE, keyword being large, herring with a treble and a single hook also works well.

Just go to pretty much any large rock pinnicle formation on the bottom, usually around 100-200ft deep, and jig there (on the downslopes) and you should nail some. Keep in mind the big ones are breeding females, and try not to keep more than one to keep the stock nice and high. They are great eating pan fried ;)

Also, be careful about that rocky bottom. Usually, even though I'm a guide, we'll get hung up on bottom once or twice during the day and have to break the line and lose all our jigs and what not. On that note, Mudrakers with a piece of herring or octopus on the end is the best combo to go with...but don't tell TOO many people that ;) haha

Where abouts are you planning on going to out west? If you have any other questions, don't hesitate to PM me and ask.

David

FisherPotch
02-29-2008, 01:29 PM
Unfortunatly there is often a misuse of slang terms for the name of fish. Example Walleye = Pickeral. Which is not true. A Pickeral is a type of pike.

In this case i think that need2fish is likely talkin about burbot. And dss44 is talking about ling cod. (I think). If not I'm sorry for butting in.