PDA

View Full Version : Does Fly Tying Really Save Money?

24/7 fishing
03-17-2012, 10:17 PM
Well just sitting at my tying desk and looking at the money i've spent on the materials. I am fairly new to tying probably 8 months, but have spent easily 250 bucks on materials, vice, tools etc... the list of stuff needed just goes on and on! I am just wondering what everyone thinks about this? Does it really save money?

badger
03-17-2012, 10:20 PM
No.

But does going fishing save you money?

uplander
03-17-2012, 10:31 PM
No it's just fun.

hacman
03-17-2012, 10:36 PM
You won't be saving yourself a pile of cash but once you've created some flies of your own and fooled a few trout with them, it makes it all worthwhile.

Dust1n
03-17-2012, 11:08 PM
Yup if you only buy the materials you need and keep it simple.

Foam Hoppers-$2.99

Essentails:
vise-$9.99
bobbin-$3.99
thread-$.99
scissors-$3.99
whip finish-$5.99

Fly Tying Materials: Hopper
Hooks-$6.99
Foam-$1.99
Rubber legs-$2.99
No fray wing-$1.99
Dubbing-2.99

So your looking at $50 for the basic kit and at about 3 bucks a hopper you must tie 17 hoppers to break even but if you want to invest in a better vise then the ones at walmart it will cost alot more.

Keep them simple and it will save you money.

Foam fly coasted next to nothing to make with wings, legs, foam, hook and thread.

Its the labor your mostly paying for not the actual fly.

pikergolf
03-17-2012, 11:15 PM
The tools are a fairly chunky investment at the beginning, but once you are set up, then yes it's a substantial savings if you don't count your time. The funny thing is we keep buying stuff without ever running out of anything, if a guy only bought materials for flies that you would normally buy you'd be good, but it is a bit of an addiction.

fish gunner
03-17-2012, 11:30 PM