PDA

View Full Version : Questions in regards to reloading a .45 ACP

Bobby B.
04-15-2012, 10:09 AM
While I've been reloading centerfire rifle cartridges for some 30 odd years, I'm new to reloading handgun cartridges. I'd appreciate some recommendations from those with experience.

Last Friday, I purchased a Sig Sauer Match Elite in .45 ACP. Now I need some recommendations on dies (I like Redding), brass, powder, primers and bullets. The pistol will be used mainly (strictly?) for target practice at the range.

Bobby B.

wolf308
04-15-2012, 10:29 AM
any dies will be fine,get the carbide grey box of rcbs, no complaints. carbide is really hard i guess and it eliminates lubing up the case.

i use rem brass, and started with Win 231 powder 5.2 grains for a 230 gr RN of JHP,but switchted to 5/5.2 grains of Win WST powder ,cleaner burning.

velocity is around 760 or so with that powder load,i think your safe to go up to 6 but dont quote me on that.

standard large primers is ideal i believe,its a low pressure round.

Altagezzer
04-15-2012, 11:50 AM