PDA

View Full Version : LEGAL or NOT

lippy
03-23-2008, 03:44 PM
I saw a fellow in a campground potting gophers with his compound bow the other day. The only thing is the campground is within the town limits. Is a bow still considered a Firearm? Just wondering ..and some thoughts on it.:)

Islander
03-23-2008, 04:33 PM
I think that there is some kind of bylaw prohibiting projectiles in (Calgary) city limits, but I am by no means an expert on rules and regs. Does seem a little dangerous if theres people nearby though.

mud slug
03-23-2008, 04:36 PM
if i remember corectly anything under 300 feet per second is ok with in city limits.

CNP
03-23-2008, 07:56 PM
It would be in the munical by-laws.....if there is anything at all that talks about bows. Most places don't include any mention of bows in their by-laws.

catnthehat
03-23-2008, 08:18 PM
We have a municipal bylaw prihibiting bows or firearms of any type within town limits.
The Co's are pretty lenient about bowhunting, but if they got a call the RCMP would charger you for sure....
Cat

grandslamer
03-23-2008, 08:52 PM
definatly not in edmonton ..i got nailed for the samething in 95 and got 350.00
fine in a park there is no hunting or wepon discharge allowed

7 REM MAG
03-23-2008, 11:20 PM
i dont really see it as a big deal part of the edomnton bow zone is inside city the limits of edmonton, leduc and nisku

Hoochie Papa
03-24-2008, 07:36 AM
If the outdoorsmen here are debating the fact, then I guarantee the rest of the public won't be. If people drove by and saw that, they would be on the phone right away, and you would be visited by some type of an official. If it is legal, the hassle of the fight would very much outweigh the enjoyment of slaying a few guffers.

ULTRAlite
03-24-2008, 11:29 AM
For Calgary.....

http://www.calgary.ca/DocGallery/BU/cityclerks/20M2003.pdf#page=4

21. No Person, while in a Park, shall:

(c) engage in any form of archery;

Bylaw 20M2003

JohninAB
03-24-2008, 04:31 PM