PDA

View Full Version : Fishing Emergers

cmcclung
05-03-2012, 02:18 PM
I have what might seem like a stupid question, but here it is. I have been flyfishing for a couple years and am very confused on how to fish emergers. I guess my main question is at what depth are they typically fished. I ask this because some are weighted and others appear to be tied to sit in the film. For the ones that are weighted do you fish them dead drift or twitch them toward the surface? I am so confused. I have read that during a hatch the fish are usually taking the emergers but with so many different patterns I am confused on how to fish them. Thanks for any help.

ÜberFly
05-03-2012, 03:01 PM
Depends...

If the fish seem like they are rising for dries and I've "matched the hatch" with the adult dry pattern and haven't been getting any hits, then I fish the equivilent emerging pattern (or even nymph) in the film or just below the surface dry fly style (after downsizing both fly and tippet)... You can also nymph using dry/dropper.... or nymph with/without an indi...

P

pipercub17
05-03-2012, 03:03 PM
most emergers are fished at the surface film at a dead drift .
and if they sink a lil thats ok
i use a strike indicator because sometimes you dont always see when they hit it

AbAngler
05-03-2012, 03:08 PM
Just a wee bit below the surface is ideal. This is where polarized glasses sure help.

Fisher_man#1
05-03-2012, 03:30 PM
Like the rest have already said mainly just under the surface.

Check out this video on how to fish emerging pupa

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GbUFUMwgqWo&feature=relmfu

the technique starts at 2:43 or watch the whole clip to learn more about the life cycle of midges.

Cheers,

commieboy
05-03-2012, 05:30 PM