PDA

View Full Version : Deaths caused by wading?

pikergolf
05-05-2012, 12:57 AM
Was wading a local lake and the bottom is really soft but banks are generally steep. First few feet are alright but anything over the knees you start sinking. Anyway, I was about knee deep on what I thought was fairly firm and when I went to move I almost ended up falling face first in the water with my feet stuck up to my ankles in clay. Took me a while to worm my way out, I am new to the wading game so lesson learned, but it could have been nasty as I'm sure I would not have been able to push myself up as the bottom was softer out in front of me. So my question is has there been any wading deaths that any of you know of.

BBJTKLE&FISHINGADVENTURES
05-05-2012, 01:04 AM
I dont think it would be the death by wading , more like exposure , or hypothermia , Water is still cold yet , all though it is warming but Sheesh unless you know the grounds solid Id stick to Shore fishing . But thats my opinion , and Opinions are like buttholes we all got em .

pikergolf
05-05-2012, 01:23 AM
I think it's a matter of learning, the one lake I fish I expected the bottom to be very soft and it was like walking on a concrete. The second lake actually has a fair bit of gravel in it but it's untrustworthy. As for dying I'm thinking drowning, an older person, or a person subject to severe cramps when muscles are under duress as I am I could see being in trouble in the scenario I was in. My feet were stuck and weren't going to come out if i fell. I will be far more conscious and am thinking about a wading staff. I'm at kind of a funny place in life, young enough to still want to experience new things, but the body is definantly what it used to be.

slivers86
05-05-2012, 01:24 AM