PDA

View Full Version : I am New to Fly fishing Any tips???

e40water12
05-08-2012, 06:57 PM
I decided to buy a fly Rods try something new. Ive been practicing in the back yard with fly rod I seem to be getting comfortable with short wrist archs. Just wondering what are popular flies to use in Alberta lakes and rivers? And helpful tips would be great to hear from as well.

Thanks in advance.

fish&fry04
05-08-2012, 07:09 PM
I am in my second year of trying the fly rod, still not very successful at it, there is an art to reading the water for fly fishing a river. Are you river or lake fishing? I find the hatch charts for the Bow River helpful, then literally googling images of the flies so I know what they are talking about. But don't go hog wild buying a suitcase of flies... Dry fly, streamers, nymphing, wet line, dry line, roll cast, spey cast, back cast, and the knotts alone are enough to make your head explode. I suggest doing a lot of online research and looking up some you tube vids, and taking a course.

Casting is an art alone, I struggled with my cast, - cannot seem to get it out more than 25', a guide taught me how to cast from a boat, and now I can cast well (from a boat anyway).

Good luck!

bugslinger22
05-08-2012, 07:11 PM
check out http://howtoflyfish.orvis.com/video-lessons The whole site is amazingly informative! Good luck!

Sundancefisher
05-08-2012, 07:47 PM
I decided to buy a fly Rods try something new. Ive been practicing in the back yard with fly rod I seem to be getting comfortable with short wrist archs. Just wondering what are popular flies to use in Alberta lakes and rivers? And helpful tips would be great to hear from as well.

Thanks in advance.

Don't try fishing dry chironomid patterns right away...they will drive you insane

pikergolf
05-08-2012, 07:50 PM
Lefty Kreh on youtube for casting.

Lornce
05-08-2012, 08:03 PM
Just spend a lot of time with a fly rod in your hand and get to know your local waters.

NUK SOO KOW