PDA

View Full Version : Fishing Bow river in Calgary area

SANTER
03-27-2008, 07:56 PM
Hi Guys!

I am new to Canada.. But I love fishing! I was reading this forum a lot, and it really helped me to sucseed on my first ice fishing season. Thanks to you all for posting good info! We have manged for the first time in my live to pull through the ice pikes, burbouts from Crawling Valley and Gull lake... We do not have this types of fosh species where i come from...
Also used some tips from this forum and we had a good time at Chain lakes with little trouts...

Hey guys, i have a question: Is it possible, or should I say is it worth trying fishing Bow river around Calgary city? I live cose to 17ave S.W. and always was thinking about giving a try in downown area? I don't know may be it is a crazy thought? What would you suggest guys? I never fished trouts in open water before - but heard that they give you a very good fight with jumps out of water and stuff...

Thanks guys

Santer

Lethalconnection
03-27-2008, 10:04 PM
Trout are my favorite open water species to catch. They give wicked fights, many will go airborne many times, they go on long runs, head shakes, rolls, dives you name it they do it. The bow river is a wicked trout fishery. Hard river to fish for the beginner, there is alot involved when it comes to the Bow alot of changing factors throughout the year. For example right now you will catch the majority of your fish in slower moving water as when summer/fall rolls around you will find them more in the faster moving water.

I find there are more Whitefish inside the city limits but there are still alot of trout and bigguns too. A basic setup that will catch you fish is a Wire Worm(aka San Juan Worm aka SJW) and have that about 7-8 feet from your float and you will hook into a couple fish.

Here are a couple posts about the bow already made so far this year.
http://outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=13411
http://outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=13336