PDA

View Full Version : Seibert Lake - C & R

schmedlap
05-25-2012, 09:59 PM
I have been accessing this forum for several years just for info and interest. I have finally joined to have some input on some issues. I recently read a (old) string on the matter of Seibert and the possibly declining population of really big Pike. Myself, my older fishing buddies, and more recently, my sons, have been going to Seibert, once or twice a year, for over 25 years - back when you really did need a good 4x4 sometimes. We love it not only for the really big pike, but also just because it is a premier place in terms of campground, scenery, wildlife, etc. For anyone who doesn't appreciate how special it is, I have met people who drove all the way from Minnesota and back over a long weekend just to get a few "big northerns", and they were very focussed on it, and appreciative of the opportunity to battle with those big guys, indeed.
We usually catch at least one or two "keepers", though I would never actually "keep" one. Our biggest all time was 46" (117 cm.). I find it hard to fathom why anyone would kill one - take a picture, release it, and go get your 1 each Walleye over 50 cm. (hell, you'll get them as "bycatch" when targeting big pike, and, if not, it takes very little effort there to get several keeper size ones) and eat those. I get a little sick when the F&W guy pulls 2 "keeper" carcasses out of the filleting station waste.