PDA

View Full Version : great day at Wizard

Thundercatcher
05-27-2012, 05:17 PM
I hooked into one about 15min and then another awhile later. and I lost 2 all in about an hour from the shore. then I lost my ' go to hook" and things went bad after that so I left! I lost a few hooks and then lost all my line because it wasn''t tied to the spool! LOL

A great day out though. the 2 I caught were too small to keep.

http://i1101.photobucket.com/albums/g431/Thundercatcher/1pikea.jpg

reb98
05-29-2012, 07:47 PM
I'm a rookie & plan on going to Wizard this weekend with my daughter. Do you just fish from shore at & around Jubilee Park? Looking online I saw different hotspots around the lake but also that most of the south side is private. Any help/info would be appreciated.

BBJTKLE&FISHINGADVENTURES
05-29-2012, 07:51 PM
Did you get your reel re spooled . I'd put some 30 lb braid on then use some fluro carbon leader material .

Thundercatcher
05-29-2012, 08:14 PM
no, I didn't re spool it yet. I have never used fluro carbon. what it that? lol.

Alberta Bigbore
05-29-2012, 09:01 PM
Its the stuff dreams are made of.

Congrats on hooking up!

05-29-2012, 09:58 PM
no, I didn't re spool it yet. I have never used fluro carbon. what it that? lol.

Here is a few things bout Fluorcarbon . But I wouldn't use it as a main line .its expensive.

Invisibility Under Water - Light goes through fluorocarbon fishing line the same way it goes through water since the refractive index is the same for both. Fish are often line shy, especially in clear water, and invisible line helps overcome this problem. In clear water you are more likely to get bites if you are using fluorocarbon line.

Density - Fluorocarbon line sinks in water so it helps get your bait down more quickly. That is positive when using a bottom bumping lure like a jig or worm.