PDA

View Full Version : Shore fishing areas around Edmonton area

New2Fishing
05-29-2012, 10:41 AM
i'm very new to this forum n fishing, my gf n i have gone to a bunch of lakes (star, hasse, pigeon) trying to land a fish other than the trouts from hermitage pond... so far no luck at all after numerous tries at the lakes... what are we doing wrong and what should we be using?... like i said i'm very new to fishing... are there any other shore fishing areas we can try for perch pike or whitefish?

New2Fishing
05-29-2012, 11:11 AM
any help would greatly be appreciated... thank you

NSR Monger
05-29-2012, 11:17 AM
try the nsr for sure! probly a couple dozen good shore spots in the city, from what I have heard shore fishing for whitefish in a lake can be pretty tough but I did catch one from the river this year, there are 13 species roughly of "catchable" fish in the river!

edit: also if you are shore fishing a lake you need to research the species of fish in the lake so you can fish accordingly, if going for pike the yellow 5 of diamonds spoon is generally considered the best for pike

I'll be heading to the river from 1ish -530 for a quickie today

BBJTKLE&FISHINGADVENTURES
05-29-2012, 11:32 AM
where did you try at pigeon lake ? you can catch them there pretty easy bobber and small jig and it will be game on .

New2Fishing
05-29-2012, 11:37 AM
we fished beside the boat launch area around noon, guess fish don't bite than... whats a good bait to use there...

05-29-2012, 11:42 AM
Which boat launch theres many of them .

You can fish right off the pier at the main Provinchal park . Theres a big walkout sea wall at Ma me o beach you can fish off .

Best fishing is done in early morning , or once the sun gets behind the trees also helps when there arent a 1000 boats trying to launch also . But hasnt stopped me from fishing then when I fished from shore .

Cast a Jig head and minnow work well as do leeches , dew worms about 50 or so yards .

New2Fishing