PDA

View Full Version : De Witts/Airdrie Pond - Lures? Bait?

mchapple
06-09-2012, 09:42 AM
Hi everyone,
I'm fairly new to alberta and grew up fishing lakes in Ontario. I've got a young son I want to take out fishing, and we live in Airdrie, so I'm going to head out to De Witts and maybe the Airdrie pond just to see if he can catch something. Just curious what I should be using for lures and bait? Back home I'd just be using a small hook and a worm, but wondering if these stocked pond fish may be picky. Read on here somewhere they like cheese slices. lol. Any suggestions? We're just looking for catch and release... even something small would be fun.
Thanks

Calgaryguy1977
06-09-2012, 09:53 AM
Hey man, you heard right! Stocked trout arent used to eating normal food typically....at least not right after they are stocked. You may want to try rolling balls of velveeta cheese, worms, power bait, corn, and even shrimp (the big ring of rubbery ones you get for cheap)

You can also try putting on a bobber/float and tie a dry fly on it like a blue winged olive or mosquito pattern......I know they will bite those!

mchapple
06-09-2012, 09:55 AM
Awesome! Thanks for the info!

TROLLER
06-09-2012, 10:26 AM
Piece of shrimp on a 10 hook with a slip bobber and you are in business.

Dgirl
06-09-2012, 02:42 PM
While I know there's still trout in Airdrie pond just keep in mind they only fired 200 or so in there. Unless you're there early morning or near sunset I suspect the high level of activity doesn't encourage heavy feeds. Definitely check out DeWitts.

Often I use small spinners. But when I'm feeling like just parking on shore:
here's my setup... http://www.fishingwithrod.com/albums/album34/051012_G.gif

I just tie my leader inline and skip the three way swivel.
I use a lead-free nail and elastic band for a weight (way less snags and CHEAP).