PDA

View Full Version : How do I properly use a strike indicator?

flyrookie
07-04-2012, 11:12 PM
Hey guys, as you probably guessed I'm fairly new to fly fishing not completely green but new enough. A friend of mine recommended using a strike indicator when fishing pothole lakes. How is this done? I picked up a couple of leaders today with "sliding indicators" on them. I'm not sure how this is supposed to work, won't the indicator slide to the end of the leader when castin or stripping?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

wildcat111
07-04-2012, 11:57 PM
start with a fairly long leader, use a tooth pick and stick in between the line and the strike indicator, you don't want the indicator to move, from there you can fish some areas and adjust lenght for water depht and fish, its easier to start long then it is to retie tippit. the general rule is 1 and a half times the depht of water, ie if fishing six feet, use 9 foot leader, if fishing real deep holes play around with the lenghts until you find fish. hope this helps

flyrookie
07-05-2012, 07:00 AM
Thank you wildcat111. Sounds like a great tip. I'm headed out fishing for a few days so I'll be sure to post my results.

kinwahkly
07-05-2012, 07:27 AM
I use the Phil Rowley strike inducatore

simmered
07-05-2012, 08:52 AM
The strike indicators I use are a little ball with a center piece that cn be removed. I run the leader through the center. The indicator will slide up and down freely. The way I set it so it doesn't move is I will now remove the center piece (still with leader through it) and make a loop with the leader and put it through the center of the body of the float. Then I put the center back through. Make sure the loop in your leader is all on one side of the center piece. This way when you get a fish on. The line will pull out and the indicator will be free to move up and down the line. It won't cause you any problems when you go to land it.

ericlin0122
07-05-2012, 08:58 AM