PDA

View Full Version : Fish measuring tolerance??

Whiteysonly
07-25-2012, 12:58 PM
Hey guys,
Now I know it should be cut and dry about measuring fish but is there a "un written" rule on size?? The reason I ask is I caught a walleye about 3 mm or 1/8" for you old guys over the 550 mm or 55 cm Mark at calling lake,being a pipefitter by trade we measure everything to the mm. I did release the fish to avoid any trouble but after thought of the variance in measuring devices is there a tolerance. I have marks on my boat but again it's close within a 1/4". What do you guys think

Winch101
07-25-2012, 01:04 PM
I have caught walleyes right on the mark and measured them later to see that they were smallerafter being in the livewell for awhile ...

so I have a 1/2 inch bigger rule ....Any other thoughts on this.

buckbrushoutdoors
07-25-2012, 01:36 PM
More importantly, since when does a pipe fitter measure in mm? 1/4" or 16th's or 32nd's but I have never seen mm on a drawing

Whiteysonly
07-25-2012, 01:47 PM
More importantly, since when does a pipe fitter measure in mm? 1/4" or 16th's or 32nd's but I have never seen mm on a drawing

Well living in Canada using the metric system I would say every job I've been on in the 13 yrs I've been doing it! Also being Canadian pipefitter is one word not 2. For the record I'm also a journeyman welder. Unless your prints are from a Yankee engineer it's always mm

BeeGuy
07-25-2012, 01:51 PM
Hey guys,
Now I know it should be cut and dry about measuring fish but is there a "un written" rule on size?? The reason I ask is I caught a walleye about 3 mm or 1/8" for you old guys over the 550 mm or 55 cm Mark at calling lake,being a pipefitter by trade we measure everything to the mm. I did release the fish to avoid any trouble but after thought of the variance in measuring devices is there a tolerance. I have marks on my boat but again it's close within a 1/4". What do you guys think

If it is over, take a picture that clearly shows its length.