PDA

View Full Version : Champion Lakes Advice

24/7 fishing
08-21-2012, 09:36 PM
Hey guys. I am pretty new to fly fishing and I will be heading to Champion for the first time. Any advice on where to fish and what flies to use would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

jacenbeers
08-22-2012, 08:28 AM
Fish the Upper lake instead of the Lower lake. There are fish in the Lower lake but not as many as it winter kills. The upper lake is deep and has a small creek flowing into it to prevent winter kill. It also depends on if you have a belly boat or not. If you dont then you will want to stick to the lower lake because it is tough to fly fish from shore at the Upper.

24/7 fishing
08-22-2012, 10:59 AM
Fish the Upper lake instead of the Lower lake. There are fish in the Lower lake but not as many as it winter kills. The upper lake is deep and has a small creek flowing into it to prevent winter kill. It also depends on if you have a belly boat or not. If you dont then you will want to stick to the lower lake because it is tough to fly fish from shore at the Upper.

Thanks for the heads up. I will make sure to bring my belly boat now.

Sundancefisher
08-22-2012, 11:03 AM
Thanks for the heads up. I will make sure to bring my belly boat now.

Watch for bait fishermen...be prepared to contact report a poacher...it is a hot spot.

Flieguy
08-22-2012, 12:26 PM
I am going with 24/7, would it be possible to take a kayak to the upper lake with an 8" wheel cart? meaning is the trail rocky & rooty or is it smooth?

jacenbeers
08-22-2012, 12:40 PM