PDA

View Full Version : Looking for fish finder recommendation

guysmiley
04-25-2008, 07:46 AM
Hi there,

I'm new to this site but from the posts I've read you all are the ones to ask about fishing gear.

I'm looking for a fish finder for my canoe but I've never used one before. It doesn't need to be a portable unit but it could be.

I've done research but only confused myself. I don't know if I need single beam, double beam, triple beam, quad beam, side beam etc.....

My goal is to get a depth, see botom detail and find out what depth the fish are sitting at.

Any recommendations would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Garrick.

JohninAB
04-25-2008, 09:38 AM
I would recommend looking at the Humminbird Piranha Max series of portable fish finders. Easy to use, very portable and run on 8 AA batteries for a long time. I have the Piranha Max 10, bought it 4 years ago for $140 or so from the Fishing Hole, never had a single problem with it. Plus the Piranha Max series has better resolution (more pixels) than the Eagle Cuda.

guysmiley
04-25-2008, 09:48 AM
I had considered the pirahnamax 240 (20 degree plus two side beams).

It seemed to have a good amount of features for the money.

Does yours effectively ID fish? Can you effectively read the bottom contour? I have no experience with fish finders but I can't seem to figure out how you read a drop off in 2D unless you drive over it perpendicularly. Maybe I'm missing something!

Garrick.

JohninAB
04-25-2008, 09:53 AM
Yes, the Fishfinder works well. Shows the bottom contour well and ID's fish if ya want it too. Very happy with it. Works as well as my higher priced fishfinders I have mounted in my boat.

When I say higher priced I mean the $300 to $400 variety, not the $2000 side imaging color GPS variety.

bowfin
04-25-2008, 11:22 AM