PDA

View Full Version : Competitive Fishing Event Licencing Survey

Rob Miskosky
09-24-2012, 05:26 PM
The Government of Alberta is gathering feedback from the public on how it currently regulates sportfishing and competitive fishing events in the province. Take the survey here: http://mywildalberta.com/BuyLicences/FishingLicensesFees/CompetitiveFishingEvents/CompetitiveFishingEventLicencingSurvey.aspx

bobalong
09-24-2012, 08:21 PM
I just completed the survey, but some of their facts/comments are out to lunch. A mortality of 350 walleye at a tournament is completely ridiculous and is only listed to inflame non-tournament anglers.........shame on them.
I have been fishing competitive events for over 20 years, and even back in the early days when the fish were weighed on shore, the mortality was not even close to that.
Once again their management technique is try and instigate a conflict between all the users, sport, commercial and tournament anglers (also sport anglers). By doing this they have all the user groups blaming each other for the state of the fishery, instead of focusing on the real problem, which is mis-managament of our fisheries (walleye) because of a lack of funding and commitment, required for long term success.
I know that recently they have initiated some walleye stocking programs, and added more "tag" lakes, but due to the fact that walleye are the most popular sport fish in the province, much, much more funding is required IMO, not only for walleye, but for pike and perch as well.

Mark H
09-24-2012, 09:22 PM
Wow.. I did the survey, there was alot of fear monguering in it.

wind drift
09-24-2012, 09:29 PM