PDA

View Full Version : ice fishing line

mattpreat
11-18-2012, 01:26 PM
with hardwater season coming quickly i need to get a new line for my jigging rod, as from what ive seen 10lb is to heavy for what i do. last year i used the berkley cold weather line and that wasnt great, and i have no experience on whats good. right now im thinking of buying some 4lb for trout and perch meant for summer fishing and 10lb for walleye and pike, but really i have no clue. what do you guys use for ice fishing?

BeeGuy
11-18-2012, 01:39 PM
I have 10lb power pro

I then make my rigs out of 4, 6, 8, 17, 30 or 50 lb

Depending on what I'm targeting

Cal
11-18-2012, 02:24 PM
I use 10 lb braid or mono on a MH rod for pike and walleye, 6lb mono on a ML rod for anything smaller as well as more finess walleye fishing.

fishtank
11-18-2012, 02:25 PM
I have 10lb power pro

always be prepared :fighting0030:

i use a 10 lb line for whitefish , they get pretty big @ pigeon

AdamJ
11-18-2012, 02:47 PM
always be prepared :fighting0030:

i use a 10 lb line for whitefish , they get pretty big @ pigeon

X2
I use 10lb fluoro for whites/perch/trout. Nice to have good line, usually hook into a 6 or 7 lb whitie every couple of trips. Overkill for perch, but I use the same rod for all three. The perch dont seem to care.
20lb fluoro for walleye 'n burbs
30lb braid for pike.

mattpreat
11-18-2012, 03:54 PM
I have 10lb power pro

i like the idea of 10lb powerpro, have always used it in the summer and done good.

X2
I use 10lb fluoro for whites/perch/trout. Nice to have good line, usually hook into a 6 or 7 lb whitie every couple of trips. Overkill for perch, but I use the same rod for all three. The perch dont seem to care.
20lb fluoro for walleye 'n burbs
30lb braid for pike.

wouldnt the pike be able to bite through the 30lb braid? My dad always taught me that anything but a steel leader wouldnt stand a chance against a pikes teeth

WayneChristie
11-18-2012, 04:04 PM