PDA

View Full Version : fireline for trolling?

slipbobber
05-22-2008, 07:47 PM
Was wondering if anyone uses fireline or any other no stretch line for trolling and how they like it. I would think it gets a little hairy when you get snaged on something other that a fish.

impatient_hunter
05-22-2008, 09:07 PM
I haven't done a whole lot of trolling with fire line but what I have done you feel a major difference between fish and a snag. Fireline is great line and I have been using it for a couple of years and have had no problems with it.

chuck0039
05-22-2008, 09:15 PM
I use fireline for everything except trolling, I find with with fire line you run the risk of ripping the lures out of the fishes mouth when you set the hook. At least with the line that have stretch you mostly eliminate this problem.

muzzy
05-22-2008, 11:05 PM
I used to use it 6 pound test on a noodle rod If a fish passed gas within a foot of your lure you felt it It was great but I found that sometimes the whole spool of line would spin on reel Haven't used it in a while now

The Fisherman Guy
05-22-2008, 11:09 PM
I use spiderwire braid on my trolling setup, IMHO it is far superior to mono. When trolling a Lenny or a Rapala, you can actually see the rod tip dance a little. When the hook gets fouled, or catches on weeds the tip stops twitching. I can actually feel the lure action through the rod in High Def so to speak... I do notice that when trolling shallow, some fish shake the hook with a quick jump after the strike. Before I have a chance to set the hook, they are off. Happens only a fraction of the time. I only prefer mono when fishing small creeks with really spooky trout. Any benefit with those buggers I will take!!:D

bobalong
05-23-2008, 08:17 AM