PDA

View Full Version : Alberta Shooting Question (newbie)

PSCCanada
12-16-2012, 09:01 PM
Small introduction and question that I will be posting via my cell phone so I apologize in advance if I make a couple mistakes.

I've decided on my first firearm (non restricted shotgun)that I will be purchasing at the beginning of the new year however I am attempting to find places that I can just target shoot. Now that I live in edmonton I know I am not able to do within the city.

But as I am new to this does anybody know of places other than actual ranges that I would be able to drive out to and just shoot at? I would prefer not to belong to a firearms range unless its the only option.

Can't wait to here some response and tips.

Thanks

catnthehat
12-16-2012, 09:08 PM
It all depends on where one lives.
Up here we have all kinds of places on crown land where we can shoot.
For the life of me however, I cannot figure out why someone would not want to belong to a range if they want to shoot but are new to shooting- you can learn much , much more in real life with people actually teaching you than you can on the internet or reading a book.:confused:
Welcome to AO BTW!:)
Cat

PSCCanada
12-16-2012, 09:30 PM
Sorry, should've probably clarified what I meant to "new".
I had my own work firearms originally, that's the reason I got a pal. But I have recently decided to purchase my OWN firearm. As I have not worked for the company for some time and wanna get back into doing "range days".

I don't want to belong to a range simply for the fact I like my piece and quite on my days off. I don't wanna listen to everybody else's guns going off. If that makes sense. I wanna go out to the country side and just target shoot.

It would be great just to find somewhere around Edmonton that I would be able to go out to a shoot at, other then a range.

Lefty-Canuck
12-16-2012, 10:15 PM