PDA

View Full Version : Hunting Quad

Smokercraft
12-17-2012, 09:32 PM
Looking for some advice from the collective experience of the forum.

Looking at getting a quad. Primary use will be for hunting, deer, elk and moose, but I'll use it for ice fishing and a bit of trail riding as well.

Read lots about the pros and cons of the different brands, and I think I'm leaning towards a Yamaha.

What I'm not sure about is what size, 660 or 450?

I like the lower wieght, better fuel economy and easier maneuvering of the smaller quad, but will a 450 be enough to haul out a moose, with a hunting partner on the back?

Thanks for the advice

Attilathecanuk
12-17-2012, 09:36 PM
450 is enough(depending on how big you, the partner and the moose is lol). Really though, I would take a 450 moose hunting/hauling any day.

huntinstuff
12-17-2012, 09:37 PM
I can pull a quartered moose, gear and kid out with my 420

Brent_reid
12-17-2012, 09:39 PM
I have been using my Honda 300 for 20 yrs and it has pulled out alot of moose and can run from morning till dark on 1 tank

Brent

huntinstuff
12-17-2012, 09:52 PM
I have been using my Honda 300 for 20 yrs and it has pulled out alot of moose and can run from morning till dark on 1 tank

Brent

Is it blue in color?

KBF
12-17-2012, 09:57 PM

Brent

I love my Brute Force 750, fun to ride and lots of power, but will not run all day on a tank,haha.

Brent_reid
12-17-2012, 09:58 PM
No its red

cochranenite
12-17-2012, 10:02 PM
Can am outlander 650 pulled two bull elk plus backs and me (260lbs) like nothing 4x4 low good to go plus 3 mule deer 2 backs, me plus my father inlaw who is 350lbs

450Marlin
12-17-2012, 10:06 PM
If I were to buy another for hunting it would be the new Honda Foreman 500. No belts to blow or change and all the power you will ever need to pull a moose.

NIKON
12-17-2012, 10:13 PM
I run a Kawi 750 Brute force also...... Tons of power :) Have upgraded to 27" aggressive tires