PDA

View Full Version : fishing alone. Advice anyone?

PlayDoh
06-01-2008, 11:25 PM
Hey guys. So I'm heading out fishing for a week all by myself, which I've never done before, and I'm just wondering if any of you have some tips? I'm tired of waiting on my "friends" to find the time to go fishing. So to heck with them, I got a new camera and I'm going to take a million pictures so I can rub it in.

I seen a trick, where you tie a rope from the boat to the trailer near the crank, when launching a boat alone, so the boat doesn't go fishing without you. I once had to try and bring a guys boat in for him, who did just that, which proved impossible until a guy with a tiller motor came by.

I've landed my own fish a million times, and I'll have a cell phone on the boat so I'm covered in case of disaster. I have a tilt trailer, yet I've only used it once. It worked a bit better, but its still easier to just put shorts on and walk the boat on to the trailer, since my trailer has no guides, yet.

I seen a guy on iboats.com fab up some boat trailer guides using a few U-bolts and some tubing from an old trampoline, which I plan on doing if I ever have the time.

I'm sure I'll be fine, and as long as I'm in the fish I shouldn't get too bored. I'll have my pooch to talk to, and complain to. I just got a fish finder for my boat, so I'll have something to play with. I just have to remember to not get to focused on it, and run the boat ashore. :p

BBJTKLE&FISHINGADVENTURES
06-01-2008, 11:34 PM