PDA

View Full Version : Help On Lakes Near Edmonton

Hooked
06-04-2008, 01:00 PM
I've read the posts on areas near edmonton, and I'm still undecided on where to go this weekend. I'm open to any type of fish but would prefer a nice Rainbow so I can smoke it (only want one for the time being).

I've narrowed it down to Chickakoo, and if no luck there head to Sauer. The other option is Muir, which is good as I only want one keeper anyway.

I love fishing Wabamun, but lately it's gotten boring due to SO MANY fish, last weekend my wife and I were catching Pike on every cast of the SE shoreline, and there were a couple of times we caught at the same time.

I'm still kinda new to fishing (started late last summer), and I have never found anything in my life that I enjoy so much!

Any input would be really helpfull, and Thank you!!

wake
06-04-2008, 04:15 PM
If you hit Chickakoo you will likely get your limit of Brookies, the bows in there are really not biting yet.

But the brookies are going crazy.

Rudy198
06-04-2008, 05:11 PM
Muir has a NO LIVE BAIT BAN and you can only keep 1 over 20",both Chickakoo and Sauer would be your best bet

Hooked
06-04-2008, 06:16 PM
I've been doing a lot of research lately, and to have the same input is more assuring.

I know about the Muir Bait Ban, and limit of one, but just wanted input on the chances.....I appreciate it!

Today at work (should have been working) I was doing more research and I thought that Walleye was only available on the Draw license, and reading more into the 2008 regulations, much too my surprise, it's only for the 3 lakes (sorry for the incompetence).

Anyway, I think I'll try Chickakoo and Sauer, but do you guys have any suggestions for Walleye close to Edmonton with regular fishing license?

I`ve never caught one and am not sure how.....!

Appletree
06-04-2008, 06:37 PM