PDA

View Full Version : Molly goes job hunting!

molly
01-14-2013, 09:46 AM
Well, I feel silly posting this but after seeing others ask for advice, I thought that it can't hurt. (Or could it? This is AOF!! :sHa_sarcasticlol:)
I have been out of the regular workplace for over two years, having kept busy enough with this ranch we work on, fencing repair jobs, etc. I have been rooting through Kijiji, Indeed.jobs, and Calgaryjobshop religiously but can't seem to find anything that suits. I am trying to find something part-time, with flexible scheduling (to accommodate commitments on the ranch, among other things), that pays a decent hourly wage, is something I find interesting and is preferably less than an hours drive. I live 25 minutes SW of High River, so that last is difficult. If I have to drive an hour plus, the wage has to go up or it is too costly.
I have a lot of retail background, am considered very creative, love animals, gardening and flowers, food and drink, photography. My past jobs have included kitchen design, working for an architect/builder, real estate and mortgages (could not handle the commission concept!), retail (kitchenware), and now caretaking a ranch with the Hublet (which in itself is great but we do not get wages, only a nice house, unless we do extras like painting, carpentry, etc.). I wish we could find something like this but that pays a salary!!
Money for any retraining is not in the cards at the moment. We may move down to Pincher Creek in the next year or two so I would feel guilty being trained somewhere and then leave, unless they had other branches to transfer to. I have tried at UFA a few times but for some reason have had no luck.
It can even be temporary or seasonal, but my depleted bank account and looming debts dictate that I need to find something SOON!! Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!! :)

Ken07AOVette
01-14-2013, 10:59 AM
Snow plow operator?

pseelk
01-14-2013, 11:09 AM