PDA

View Full Version : Perch fishing the brooks/taber area

zoolander89
01-16-2013, 03:12 PM
I'm just wondering if anyone fishes any of the smaller lakes around the area for perch? I know a lot of people go to newell, keho, badger ect. But i perfer to fish smaller lakes, just a personal preference. Im only wondering if it would be a waste of time, and i would be better off investing the time into fishing one of the larger lakes.

Thanks in advance

zoolander89
01-17-2013, 07:47 AM
Im not looking for specific lake names or honey holes, i just want to know if the area is worth it. I moved to calgary about two or three years ago and this is my first year attempting ice fishing south of edmonton. Any help would be good

Guitarplayingfish
01-17-2013, 08:30 AM
Perch fishing in your area is very limited. There are a few places... but i know for a fact one of them has stunted perch. Sherburne is probably your best bet.

zoolander89
01-17-2013, 09:45 AM
Thanks for the info, I actually live in calgary i just figured this sermed to be the best areafor lakes with perch in them. I work with a guy from England that has never gone ice fishing before. So i figured perch fishing or maybe trying out spray lakes might be a good first outing

pinelakeperch
01-17-2013, 07:35 PM
Thanks for the info, I actually live in calgary i just figured this sermed to be the best areafor lakes with perch in them. I work with a guy from England that has never gone ice fishing before. So i figured perch fishing or maybe trying out spray lakes might be a good first outing

I'd just hit Newell for some Northerns. That is unless he has an aversion to Pike fishing. I've caught a ton of Perch in Nanton's pond but they aren't very big unfortunately.

zoolander89
01-17-2013, 08:18 PM
Thanks jhutter, maybe ill give newell a go on sunday and see how it goes.

Zenfishdude
01-23-2013, 08:00 PM