PDA

View Full Version : Are all perch female?

the pilot cock
01-20-2013, 10:38 PM
I spent the day perch fishing with a buddy and took home some dinner. I'm fairly new to perch fishing and as I was cleaning them I noticed that every single one of them was female identified of course by the sack of eggs inside. What's the story on that? Are the males just usually a whole lot smaller and so tend to get C+R'd or have perch become the first official species to figure out how to multiply without the aide of a male? If they are, we need to make sure that human females never ever figure out their secret on how they do it...:thinking-006:

brobinson
01-20-2013, 10:43 PM
I've found this as well. However out of the ones I've taken home this year. Maybe 3 or 4 have not had eggs. And instead had a white tube in that same area. So I'm assuming those ones were male. But I'd agree, way more nice perch have been female.

Zanzibar
01-20-2013, 11:18 PM
The males are usually smaller, but have more meat for their size. Take pictures and put the fatties back, it's better in the long run.

Speckle55
01-20-2013, 11:24 PM
wait till the end of April in some lakes that are open and the males will sperm on you and the females will egg you.. most i have seen are in the 9inch to 11inch range that will put out a white sperm when you handle them

just saying

Food for Thought

David:)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yellow_perch

BeeGuy
01-20-2013, 11:33 PM
The females are bigger on average.

BTW there are already fish known to reproduce without males.

These include a few species of fish available at the pet shop, as well as at least one shark which is capable of 'virgin birth'.

EZM
01-21-2013, 01:58 PM
The females are bigger on average.

BTW there are already fish known to reproduce without males.

These include a few species of fish available at the pet shop, as well as at least one shark which is capable of 'virgin birth'.