PDA

View Full Version : early spring fly patterns

early spring fly patterns
04-20-2007, 10:12 PM
I am new to fly fishing, and love it so far. Last year was my first. Lots of trail and error with patterns. Fish mostly under a strike indicator. Could anyone please give me some advise on some good early season patterns? Chironomids perhaps?? This is very quickly becoming an obsession! I am willing to soak up any advice like a sponge. Thank you very much for any words of wisdom.

RyanGSP
04-20-2007, 10:34 PM
Icecrem cone and San Juan Worms have been working for me. Leech patterns of all sorts have been working. Been favouring the egg sucking leech and the bead head leech.

jrs
04-20-2007, 10:48 PM
What waterbody are you fishing. Lake, river ????. Nymphs are great this time of year.

RyanGSP
04-20-2007, 11:08 PM
I should aslo mention on lakes waterboatmen on the top have been working good as well.

04-21-2007, 12:57 PM
Thanks for the tips guys. It's people like you that are willing to share tips and information that make this sport great. I fish stocked ponds and lakes. I use floating line with a strike indicator setup. My best all around fly seems to be a beadhead pheasant tail nymph, size 10. I'm going down to Diplomat Mine pond, southwest of Forestburg this afternoon to check it out, and will post a reply tonight. Thanks again for the advice!!

re
04-21-2007, 07:05 PM
Any type of stimulators. ie Pheasant tail, royal coachmen, prince nymph. Work any time of year. If they are coming to the surface, use a elk hair humpy or match the hatch!

04-21-2007, 07:14 PM
Was at Diplomat Mine pond, and the good news is the ice is off, and no sign of any dead trout around the shoreline. Fished for about an hour, with no luck. Tried several different nymph and chironomid patterns. My wife was fishing her favorite power bait, which usually never fails, but maybe they are a little sluggish with it being such a lousy day weatherwise. Looking forward to things to come.

RyanGSP