PDA

View Full Version : Best Time of Year for Sturgeon?

Jonny O
04-21-2013, 05:45 PM
Hey Guys,

I just had a Bday a while back and my Girlfriend and Family were cool enough to buy me a sturgeon fishing trip on the Fraser River. They've got it booked through a guiding service already but with no specific time yet. I've never done this before and don't know a lot about it. What time of year is the best? I would assume late summer or early fall?

I'll obviously talk to the guiding outfit as well, but I was hoping to get some opinions from you guys too.

Thanks a lot for any info!

Acesneights
04-21-2013, 05:53 PM
A few buddies and I have booked a trip on the Fraser and everything I've heard is anytime in September.

mooseknuckle
04-21-2013, 05:57 PM
Fall for sure. Sept-oct is what I've heard. Great bday present you will have a great time!!

Thunder Elk Hunter
04-21-2013, 07:32 PM
Neighbour had some great pictures of ones they caught last week. They did caught some big ones and in two day caught over 20.

fishpro
04-21-2013, 08:02 PM
September to November will be best - I booked with STS guiding before and Vic (the owner) told me the absolute best time is mid October to mid November.

fish gunner
04-21-2013, 08:12 PM
Late In the fall is best as thats when the salmon carcass become available. This localize's the big ones and makes them easier to find. It also makes bait choice easy.

The-Legend
04-21-2013, 08:16 PM
I have a trip booked for June 30th with great river outfitters fishing in the Fraser canyon.. Great wedding gift thanks wifey!! Will I have much luck or is the fall the best like everyone is saying??

fish gunner
04-21-2013, 08:36 PM
I have a trip booked for June 30th with great river outfitters fishing in the Fraser canyon.. Great wedding gift thanks wifey!! Will I have much luck or is the fall the best like everyone is saying??