PDA

View Full Version : Shooting the line... fly fishing

WildOrchid
05-19-2013, 08:32 PM
Wondering if there is any one that could explain how to get the distance on the line out when fly fishing. ..? My timings decent, my line is out there and then it falls 4ft in front like a limp noodle :/

I have watched a decent amount of videos and spent time behind the fly rod but can't seem to get my line to land out as far as I'm able to get it going.. I have a feeling it has to do with my timing but thinking more to it.

I'm pretty solo, not many friends that fish let alone fly fish. Any advice would be very much appreciated :)

DiabeticKripple
05-19-2013, 08:37 PM
pause for a brief second on your back cast, to allow the line to catch up, then cast forward stopping at like a 30 degree angle above the water, and let go of the line. im not very good at it yet but i can get 10+ feet out on a cast

lannie
05-19-2013, 08:44 PM
Get a friend who can cast to watch you at the school ground. You might think your timing is good but someone watching you will be a better judge of that.
You are not letting the rod load up before you move it forward. Try to false cast as little as possible and do not worry about distance. Put line down on the grass straight in front of you and in one motion back cast, wait for line to load the rod then short forward arc and the line will go straight out. Do this without the false cast, it will help you get the timing right.

Gust
05-19-2013, 08:57 PM
how much line are you attempting to throw?

Everybody has a different technique. When I'm stripping my line in, I gather 6 thru 8foot lengths on each digit of my left hand,, then when I'm chucking again, I can release shorter lengths efficiently for distance as opposed to trying to get a huge length out at once,, if this makes sense. Though I'm not into distance casting.

What weight rod are you using?

WildOrchid
05-19-2013, 08:57 PM