PDA

View Full Version : new to the Lac La Biche and area

LacLaBicheNS
08-08-2008, 09:15 AM
Hey everyone. I'm new to Lac La Biche. Just moved here from Ontario.

I'm a avid fisherman but I have no idea what's in Lac La Biche. I am living in a house 5 mins from La La Biche itself. What species of fish lurk in LLB? I assume pike and walleye? ANything else? Any info on this lake would be great!!

Cheers

Walleyes
08-08-2008, 09:40 AM
Welcome to northern A.B. LacLaBicheNS and welcome to some of the finest fishing any wheres in the province.

I will start with saying that the big lake its self is not the best lake in the area it does have some fine winter perch fishing and the pike fishing is o.k. but being such a large lake it is hard to get a handle on them you are much better off fishing some of the smaller lakes in the area. The area has an enormas amount of lakes in it and most of them have multiple species in them. One of the better fishing lakes and one that is very easy to fish and easy to access is Beaver Lake. It has good launches and it is an easy lake to navigate. Beaver has awsome walleye fishing on it and once you get onto them catches of 50+ fish a night are not uncommon. Fish most any point with a good drop off to the 15 - 20 foot mark with jig and minnow or jig and leech or bobber and leech and you will be into fish. Cast spoons or troll raps in the bays for pike. Start with Beaver and progress out to other lakes from there many of the better lakes are quad in only and it will take time as you get to know locals they will take you out. Be patient and it will come. As well get yourself a map of the Lake Land Provincle Recreation Area it is a very handy tool showing many of the lakes and access into them.