PDA

View Full Version : Alberta angler of the year farce

FisherPotch
08-11-2013, 04:27 PM
Any one else out there sick and tired of watching year after year (for at least a decade now I'm guessing) a pike winning angler of the year?

It's beyond proposperous in my opinion. Just because the provincial record pike was short and fat pike wins year after year.

The provincial record walleye was long, like 37 inch I believe. So the next time a walleye wins it will have to be a new record for the province.

Now say someone gets a 13 lb Brookie, or a 18 lb bull trout..... They wouldn't even get recognition in the regs when setting new provincial records. The 21+lb brown from 2010 that became the new provincial record doesn't even get honorable mention for "angler of the year" on a year a 27 lb pike won it a 21+lb brown trout gets nothing.

Now I'm no pro snake charmer but in my experience they are often abundant, aggressive and easy to catch. And the way I was raised we avoided them as best we could so we could focus on eyes (or pickerel if you ask dad). I've caught three pike now @ 40+ inches. Targeting other species I've caught all three of them! I've probably caught pike on damn near evey lure I own. Maybe not giant phenom pike but I find they are generally the easiest fish to get on the line. They are good fighters no doubt I can't deny them that. But the challenge is much lessor when your fishing with steel or titanium and you can just horse the thing in.

I've fought for years to catch big fish. And in my experience pike fishing is not even a challenge compared to the miles I've put on looking for bulls or browns.

What is most absurd to me is that the records are based on weight. But for this award they go by length in comparison to the current prov. record. How could this possibly have seemed like a good idea to anyone?? I understand for C&R lengths are needed. So do a seperate award like afga does.