PDA

View Full Version : Recommended Ranger Finder

TRG
08-13-2013, 11:54 AM
Has anyone found a good "rangefinder" IPhone app that I could use for bow hunting? Or should I just buy a range finder and if so - any suggestions? (I'm new to bow hunting and really not sure what is available and good).

Pincherguy
08-13-2013, 12:03 PM
I don't know of any phone app but I have a bushnell yardage pro sport 450.
I works great and they are not too expensive.

jcrayford
08-13-2013, 12:18 PM
Has anyone found a good "rangefinder" IPhone app that I could use for bow hunting? Or should I just buy a range finder and if so - any suggestions? (I'm new to bow hunting and really not sure what is available and good).

I can't imagine that an iPhone app would be sufficient. In my mind of the process, snapping a pic with the iPhone, then calibrating something in the pic and calculating a distance would be how it would work. But what happens when the calibration subject is bigger or smaller than you guess it is? Could throw your calculated distance off by quite a bit....

Better to buy a rangefinder (Bushnell 450 sport is less expensive and does a very good job for the $ involved) and allow it to do the job it was designed for - ranging to a target. With a little practice, you can range through trees/bush and everything else (except fog).

I had a 450 sport too (my son now owns it) before I upgraded to another Bushnell, bought here on AO classifieds....

J.

TRG
08-13-2013, 12:41 PM
Thank you guys!

Zuludog
08-13-2013, 02:42 PM
I have the Vortex but I also use it for rifle season. At least I did last year.:)
For bow hunting you obviously don't need an expensive range finder that can range really far as the distances are short, so I'd just pick up a range finder instead of using a Iphone app.

north american hunter
08-13-2013, 02:51 PM
I have heard amazing things about the vortex but, I have 2 of the leupold rx 1000's and they works great, one is tbr and the other is normal

Lefty-Canuck