PDA

View Full Version : Going to the LSR!!

FisherPotch
09-01-2008, 08:47 PM
We'll boys, after many debates a conclusion has been reached. This will be the month that I catch my first Grayling (pending lol). Heading up on Wednesday and I'm very excited. This will be something new to me and I have wanted to catch a grayling ever since I first saw a picture of one. With there unique dorsal, to say that I was intrigued would be an understatement.

I've never been fishing in the region so we are kind of starting from scratch, with the excepting of the fact that one fellow I'm fishing with is from the Yukon. He's caught many on spinning gear and said that small spinners and even spoons should produce.

But.......

I've got my heart set on catching one on the fly. It's my first year so I'm kind of new to flyfishing but I'd say I've got over 150 fly's now. If you boys are willing to share some info it would be greatly appreciated.

I'd just like to know what fly's to be bringing in case I don't have what they want. When I fished the Bow we did so under an indicator. Not realy sure if the LSR is a place for fishing under an indicator or not. Should I be using dry's? Like I said I'm a little green in the gills when it comes to fly tossing so litteraly any info, regardless of how basic, would likley be helpful to me. Also I'm not really sure where to start on the river, but I will be studying the backroad maps tonight.

Anybody going to be up there this week? From my understanding from now till hollow’s eve is the time to be there. I always enjoy a beer with AO members IF anyone is in the region maybe we could get one in and shoot some breeze. Thanks in advance, tight lines.

Oh ya, anybody know if there are any near by waters where a guy might find some bulls or rockies as I've never caught either of them either.

tonyflyfish
09-01-2008, 10:12 PM