PDA

View Full Version : Lets Talk about Pickerel Rigs

B_Type13X2
10-14-2013, 08:43 PM
Since I began River fishing extensively I have had a love hate relationship with these things. I love using them and love the fishing I have gotten out of them but I hate the results that these things can have on heavily fished spots, namely on the bottom. Yesterday while having a good day of fishing I retrieved no less then 7 rigs people had snagged on something and abandoned. I also lost 3 of my 5 of diamonds to these rigs. I would later recover one of the three stuck on one of the rigs.

Now I'm not an expert fisherman not even close but I have learned a few things, the most important has been if anything is going to get snagged in a way that you can't get it unstuck, its going to be your weight. The moment I get snagged I assume my weight is going bye bye, which is why I've taken to making my own rigs.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v170/B_Type13/812262_zps231e984c.jpg (http://smg.photobucket.com/user/B_Type13/media/812262_zps231e984c.jpg.html)

This is your standard P.rig, mine are a little different, the largest difference between mine and a standard rig is that I only use 1 spreader an therefore only 1 hook. The distance between the swivel up top and the spreader arm is about 8"s. I also snell my own hooks and give them 6"s of line. The distance between the bottom snapswivel and the spreader arm is 24"s. The average length for a P.rig is about 36"s, my rigs are a little shorter but it doesn't matter. While fishing in fast moving water I have learned that your bottom hook and arm end up on the bottom of the river.Your line in moving water does not remain vertical the faster the moving water the more parallel to the river bed it becomes; so unless your fishing for sucker fish, it seems wasted to me.