PDA

View Full Version : Need some brookie help!

Geezle
10-18-2013, 08:10 AM
So if all goes to plan, next weekend a couple of us yahoos are going to go on a brook trout excursion for a day or two.

Now the only time I've had any success with brook trout has pretty much been just jigging for them in the winter, and I have very little open water experience with them.

On top of that, I'm also not a fly guy, so chucking fluff is out for me, unless I do the ol' fly-behind-a-bobber thing.

Also, what kind of structure do brookies like? I'll be fishing from a tinner with a sonar but have no idea what to look for.

So yeah...basically I need a bit of a brook trout crash course so I can hopefully take at least a half decent stab at this and make the trip worthwhile :)

The Fisherman Guy
10-18-2013, 09:18 AM
Bookies like structure like logs, and boulders. Find the drop offs on the edge of shallows. They really like water beetles, a good idea would be to pump the stomach of your first to see what they are eating.

Big brookies eat fish, so if the water body allows it, small (tiny) minnows are a good choice.

I would jig for them overtop of structure. Look for logs, and the edge of weed beds. Small blue jigs have worked well for me.

Also, if you're using worms, use small trout red worms not see worms. Also slow trolling a slow death hook at a dead slow pace makin sure it spins just below the surface - that has landed my best brookie.

Good luck J!

chriscosta
10-18-2013, 10:09 AM