PDA

View Full Version : why???

spoiledsaskhunter
09-22-2008, 09:02 AM
Hope this hasn't been beaten to death already, but as a recent transplant, I just cannot figure out why the regs allow us to keep the big walleye and throw the little ones back. Can someone enlighten me.......seems way the wrong way around for the uneducated.

slingshotz
09-22-2008, 10:59 AM
I'm no expert by any means but I believe that it is to prevent the over harvest of small fish before they get the chance to spawn. I believe they design the regs so that the legal fish have had a few years of spawning maturity before they can be legally kept. There are so many people that fish in Alberta with so little water to fish in that if the small ones were allowed to be kept nothing would grow old enough to spawn.

That said, I don't fully understand some of the regs on the Bow where some sections you are allowed to keep the smaller fish and have to throw the bigger ones back. Maybe there's enough big fish now in the Bow....

Kyle
09-22-2008, 11:15 AM
Hope this hasn't been beaten to death already, but as a recent transplant, I just cannot figure out why the regs allow us to keep the big walleye and throw the little ones back. Can someone enlighten me.......seems way the wrong way around for the uneducated.

its not just walleye...pike,trout,whitefish,burbot,everything. Too bad we didnt have some knowledgeable biologists in AB. :confused:
biggest.idiots.ever.

Jester
09-22-2008, 11:26 AM
Too bad we didnt have some knowledgeable biologists in AB. :confused:
biggest.idiots.ever.

but as a recent transplant,

And where are you from?:rolleye2:

bardfromedson
09-22-2008, 12:03 PM