PDA

View Full Version : Ghost Reservoir

fly Guy
12-30-2013, 08:48 AM
wondering if anyone has been out, and can update on the ice conditions? are people driving on the lake ?

CraigRosgen
12-30-2013, 10:14 AM
Yeah there are people with trucks on the ice. Was about 14 inches of hard blue ice.

BassDude
12-30-2013, 10:40 AM
I was out on the 27th - really windy, no snow on the ice. Ice was around 14" thick. Action was slow. Fished from 830 am to around 1130. Punched holes from the old campground shoreline out about 100 yards from shore (near the ice sailboats) - very slow - empty flasher screen. Saw a bunch of trucks heading down the lake. I'm a rookie on Ghost so I got on the 1A and drove west to see what's going on in terms of shack setups, also stopped at the church and walked down to the river's edge. Lot's of folks were on the ice further down the lake. Spoke to a veteran local who had moved around and also reported a slow day. My next trip will be further west down the lake. Lot's of trucks bombing down the lake.

AdverseCity
12-30-2013, 11:01 AM
I've only fished the little bay/inlet area by the boat launch but want to try the main body of the lake. Is there anywhere to access with a quad besides the boat launch? There was a lot of snow there last week making it difficult to say the least.

BassDude
12-30-2013, 11:39 AM
there was pretty easy quad access by the old campground on the southside of the bridge the day I was there. I saw 4 or 5 quad trailers and quads driving around. Most of the snow melted off I believe - there was almost no snow on the lake ice - cleats were required to be able to stand in the wind.

BassDude
12-31-2013, 04:29 PM
Heading out to Ghost for early afternoon to sundown tomorrow - plan on driving west of the old campground....hoping to start the year with a lake trout!

fly Guy
12-31-2013, 06:14 PM
i made it out today. I caught one small laker and two rockies. I was near the summer village. it was very slow today.

BassDude