PDA

View Full Version : fishing in chinooks

malang
01-08-2014, 01:06 PM
hi all heading out this weekend looks like a Chinook will be blowing in I never seem to do well on these kind of days what do you guys do in these conditions.do you fish deeper /shallow/slower.:thinking-006:

WhitefishLady
01-08-2014, 04:25 PM
We haven't caught anything on chinook days either! Wonder if there is a scientiic explanation for this. I'm a biologist but I have no idea! We even got skunked on Pine Coulee :( it's always windy too on these days so have to pile snow around the shack.

ORV
01-08-2014, 04:44 PM
we always find the nicest days for the fishermen & women
are the crappiest days fishing. lol

not much luck during Chinooks here either. pressure change maybe??

orv.

WayneChristie
01-08-2014, 04:48 PM
Try fishing deeper.

petesapie
01-08-2014, 05:48 PM
Swing a streamer!

The Reel Deal
01-08-2014, 06:02 PM
I have slow bites during chinooks too. chinooks bring low barro pressures. but ive found low pressures or a drop in pressure to be good for fishing, except during chinooks... weird

Gust
01-08-2014, 06:08 PM
though only tested twice on the same lake,, I discovered by fluke, that the fish hit immediately below the ice in 12 fow,, so near the surface during a chinook. I have some theories as to why, but they're boring.

The Reel Deal
01-08-2014, 07:20 PM
though only tested twice on the same lake,, I discovered by fluke, that the fish hit immediately below the ice in 12 fow,, so near the surface during a chinook. I have some theories as to why, but they're boring.

You have my attention

Gust
01-08-2014, 08:33 PM
I think the ice acts like the skin of a drum,,, when the wind is hauling it pushes down upon the whole lake which if even a mm compression from above, would cause incredible water pressure below and then released pressure, which in turn must be hell on a fish. Kinda like if we went up and down in an elevator that was really fast and how our ear drums would feel.